Charlotte Folk Society and Tosco Music
2023 Swannanoa Gathering Scholarships

A partnership with the Swannanoa Gathering at Warren Wilson College

Applications are closed for 2023 – Check back late December/Early January for 2024!

Each year the Charlotte Folk Society and Tosco Music award scholarships to the Swannanoa Gathering at Warren Wilson College to promising musicians who wish to further their studies by participating in the week long music camps near Swannanoa, North Carolina. This year, there are six scholarships available (4 youth and 2 adult).

IMPORTANT! The deadline for application materials is Wednesday, January 25th, 2023 and that the auditions will be held at Myers Park Baptist Church the following Sunday, January 29th at 1:00 PM.

2023 Swannanoa Gathering Dates:
Mando/Banjo Week: June 25 – July 1
Fiddle Week: June 25 – July 1
Traditional Song Week: July 2 – 8
Celtic Week: July 9 – 15
Old-Time Week: July 16 – 22
Contemporary Folk Week: July 23 – 29
Guitar Week: July 23 – 29

2023 Scholarship Guidelines

2023 Judging Guidelines

How To Apply

  1. Print and fill-out the following two forms: 2023 Scholarship Application and 2023 Liability Release (disregard previous deadline of January 22nd in the Scholarship Application form…new deadline is January 25th)
  2. Scan both forms to PDF. You can use any free scan-to-pdf app (e.g, Turbo Scan) on your phone.
  3. Email the PDF files to with subject line “Swannanoa Scholarships 2023”. Please include your name in the email body.